Ethiopian Mocha Pu-erh ~ Tea Review {@whistlingkettle}

When I started my new job back in July ’13 I’d gotten into the nasty habit of drinking…coffee. I know, bad, bad. But I’ve been trying to kick that (slowly) by bringing some of my favorite teas to work and to make a thermos full of something before I leave in the morning.  I’ve also brought in some tea making goodies to make a proper cup.  As for the tea I’ve used to try and kick the coffee?  I’ve looked to pu-erh’s because they tend to be super strong like coffee.

No no!

No no!

So the other day I noticed that my local tea room (The Whistling Kettle) just started carrying a new blend – Ethiopian Mocha Pu-erh.  I knew I had to get my paws on some ASAP.  So I ordered 4oz. I know you might be thinking this is a bit much for a tea I’ve never tried before.  But I’ve only ever had one tea I bought in a large amount from The Whistling Kettle that I didn’t like.  Thankfully my order arrived yesterday and I’m just digging in today.

Contains Pu-erh tea and coffee! Think fine roasted coffee, dark chocolate, and a caramel finish when trying this for the first time, works well with a spot of milk.

Contains Pu-erh tea and coffee! Think fine roasted coffee, dark chocolate, and a caramel finish when trying this for the first time, works well with a spot of milk.

The dry leaves smell like coffee.  Not crummy coffee either, like top notch coffee that might be served in some swanky cafe in Paris.  The steeped leaf smells more like the earthiness I’ve come to expect from a pu-erh teas.  There are also hints of chocolate/mocha and caramel in the tea.  The mocha and caramel notes come out and mix really well with one another in this tea too.  Which I find to be really nice because flavors sometimes get lost in pu-erh teas.  So I was happy to find everything promised in this tea was delivered!

I think I found a nice way to get a little coffee and yet not feel guilty for not having tea!

One comment

Leave a Reply

